Monday, May 10, 2010

CLL Writers' Awards Open for 2010

The Copyright Licensing Ltd Writers' Awards known as the CLL Writers' Awards are open for 2010. Each year two awards of $35,000 are granted to provide financial support to 2 established writers to devote time to a specific non-fiction writing project.

To be eligible to enter applicants must be either New Zealand citizens or have permanent residency status. Other requirements of entry are that applicants must be proven writers of merit, supply an outline of the proposed work and a completed Working Plan of how the Award will be used.

To qualify for the CLL Writers' Award the project must be non-fiction. Some examples of acceptable themes are history, biography, natural or social history, specialist non-fiction, general non-fiction, personal memoir, educational textbook or reference book, guide book, “how-to” book.

Applications to the CLL Writers' Awards close on 15 July 2010. Successful writers will be notified by 15 September 2010 and announced at a function held in Auckland later in September. The period of the CLL Writers' Awards runs for one calendar year from January 2011.

The CLL Writers' Awards are funded from copyright licensing revenue received by CLL on behalf of publishers and authors. Since its inauguration in 2002 many winners of the Award have produced significant works such as Jill Trevelyan's biography Rita Angus: An Artist's Life which won the 2009 Montana Medal for Non-Fiction.

Last year's winners [2009] of the CLL Writers' Awards were Filmmaker Peter Wells who received financial assistance to write a series of biographical essays on William Colenso, entitled The Hungry Heart: The Enquiring Mind and Art Historian and Curator Damian Skinner for his writing project: The Hands of the Ancestors: Customary Maori Carvers in the Twentieth Century. Other renowned New Zealand writers who have also been recipients of this prestigious award are Sarah Quigley and Stevan Eldred-Grigg. More about past winners of the CLL Writers' Awards.

Full Submission Guidelines and Application Forms

Closing Date 15 July 2010

Related Links
CLL Newsletter Spring 2009 Damian Skinner and Peter Wells Winners

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Drabble Sci-Fi Short Story Competition

Ever wanted to write Science Fiction or Fantasy? Test your short story writing skills in this very short story competition from Au Contraire, New Zealand's National Science Fiction Convention for 2010.

The Drabble Competition which closes on 31 July 2010 is open to all members of Au Contraire either attending or supporting. Entries must be 100 words exactly excluding the title. Successful entries may be printed in the Au Contraire con book or post-con book.

Submission Guidelines
  • Entries must be short stories of exactly 100 words not including the title.
  • The title must be shorter than the story itself
  • The competition is open to all members of Au Contraire, attending or supporting.
  • Up to 3 entries may be submitted
  • Entrants must include a cover page that includes the short story title, plus their name and contact details.
  • Emailed submissions must be in a widely recognised file format. RTF is recommended.
  • Submissions may be posted but will not be returned
  • Entrants name or other identifying details should not be visible on the story itself

Deadline: 31 July 2010

Send entries to:

Au Contraire
PO Box 10104

or email submissions to:

More Submission Details