Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Takahe Poetry Competition 2010 NZ Writing Competition

Make sure you don't miss entering the Takahe Poetry Competition 2010 which closes on 30 September 2010. This year's annual New Zealand poetry writing contest will be judged by acclaimed New Zealand Poet, James Norcliffe.

The winner of the Takahe Poetry Competition 2010 will receive a first prize of $250. The second prize is $100 in cash. There are also free yearly subscriptions to the Takahe magazine for the two runners up. Winning entries will be published in the future issues of the Takahe magazine.

The poetry contest is open to poets from around the world. Work submitted must not have been previously published.

There is no limit to the number of entries an author can submit. The cost per entry is NZ $5.00.

Poets have free reign to unleash whatever they are passionate about as there is no set theme for the poetry competition. Poems are, however, limited to 50 lines. Copyright stays with the poet.

Read the winning poem by Emma Neale from the 2008 Takahe Poetry Competition

Submission Guidelines
  1. Each entry must be the original work of the author and be previously unpublished
  2. The maximum length of each entry is 50 lines.
  3. Entries must be typed on A4 paper and printed on one side only
  4. The entrants name must not appear on the manuscript
  5. Each entry must be accompanied by the $5 entry fee along with a self addressed envelope for return of results and entries
    Closes: 30 September 2010
Full Submission Guidelines and Entry Form

Entries should be posted to:

Takahe Poetry Competition 2010
PO Box 13-335
Christchurch 8141
New Zealand

Queries about the competition can be emailed to: admin@takahe.org.nz

Monday, September 20, 2010

Global Short Story Writing Competition

If you are a New Zealand writer with a hankering to have your writing exposed to an international audience then you may be interested in entering the Global Short Story Competition, a writing competition with the backing of acclaimed travel writer, Bill Bryson.

The Global Short Story Competition, a monthly writing competiton run by Durham University in England, is open to writers from all over the world. The writing contest has been developed to showcase unknown writers and to build an international community of writers.

Each month a winning story along with a highly commended entry are selected for cash prizes - £100 GBP for the winner and £25 GBP for the runner-up. Winning stories of the Global Short Story competition are displayed on the Global Short Stories website. At the end of 12 months each winner is considered for a cash prize of £250 GBP and inclusion in an e-anthology.

In order to enter the writing contest online you need to be registered on the Global Short Story site. You can either pre-register or do so at the time that you submit your short story. The cost to enter the Global Short Story Competition is £5 GBP per story which can be paid electronically via Paypal. Postal entries are also accepted.

Submission Details

  1. Entries must be not more than 2,000 words and may be on any theme

  2. Entries must be by writers aged 17 or over.

  3. Entries are limited to no more than 4 entries per individual per judging period.

  4. Entries must be written in English.

  5. The author retains copyright for short stories submitted however winning stories will be posted to the Global Short Story website.

Read more about submission guidelines and competition rules

Queries about the competition to: john.dean@certys.co.uk

Enter Global Short Story Competition online


Post entries to:

Certys Office
Livingstone House
29 High Northgate
Co Durham
England DL1 1UQ

Entries need to be marked Global Short Story Competition and contain the £5 entry fee. Cheques should made payable to Certys Limited.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Unity Books Short Story Writing Competition 2010

Unity Books in association with Sport Magazine is running a short story writing competition with a difference. The writing contest entitled The Long and the Short of It is looking for short stories that "inspire, inquire, disrupt and explain our lives" and challenges writers to submit a story "worth passing on."

The writing competition is open to all New Zealand writers and residents. Only one entry per person is permitted. Winning entries will be published in a book, "The Long and the Short" which will be launched at the Auckland Writers and Readers Festival 2011.

The writing contest will be judged by acclaimed authors: Elizabeth Knox, Emily Perkins and Bill Manhire. There are two categories: the short (under 1000 words) and the long (over 10,000 words). The winner of each category will receive a $1000.00 Unity Books voucher and will be published in Sport Magazine.

Unity Books Short Story Writing Competition - The Long and the Short of It

Submission Guidelines
  1. Open to NZ citizens and residents only
  2. Submission must not have been previously published or broadcast
  3. Submissions should not be named and need to be accompanied by the official entry form
Closing Date: 24 December 2010

Download Entry Form or

Enter online at Unity Books Long and Short of It Writing Competition

Sunday, September 5, 2010

Christchurch Writers Festival 2010 Cancelled

What a shame that due to the earthquake in Christchurch, New Zealand The Press Christchurch Writers Festival was cancelled. The biennal event which was scheduled to be held over 4 days from 9 - 12 September 2010 was to bring together 80 writers, thinkers, journalists and performers from both New Zealand and overseas over 50 events. Our hearts go out to all the people affected by this terrible disaster.

More information about the programme and invited guests for The Press Christchurch Writers Festival 2010