New Zealand Writing Awards and Fellowships

A comprehensive roundup of New Zealand writing awards, fellowships and residencies for writers at all stages of their literary careers.

Lillian Ida Smith Award 2010
$3000.00 awarded every two years to a writer over 35 years of age at the start of their literary career. Applicants must be members of the NZ Society of Authors.
Closing Date: 1 November 2011

NZSA Mid-Career Writers Award 2010
The purpose of the award is to offer recognition to an author who may not necessarily have previously achieved a high level of publicity for their work but is at the mid-point in their literary career. $3500 to a writer of fiction, poetry, short fiction collections, drama, or literary non-fiction.
Closing Date: 6 November 2010

Janet Frame Memorial Award for Literature 2010
A single biennial grant of $3000 to support a mid-career or established author to further a literary career. Administered by the New Zealand Society of Authors
Closing Date: 31 October 2010

NZSA Beatson Fellowship 2010/2011
A fellowship worth $6,800 in 2010/11 to allow a NZ writer and member of SA to pursue an approved writing project. Optional one month's stay in Foxton.
Closing Date: 30 September 2010

CLL (Copyright Licensing Limited) Writers' Awards 2010
Two awards of $35,000 each for two writers to devote time to a specific non-fiction writing project
Closing Date: 15 July 2010

Kingi McKinnon Scholarship for Emerging Writers 2010
The Kingi McKinnon Scholarship is open to unpublished writers who wish develop their creative writing skills with a view to achieving publication. The scholarship carries will pay the fees of the Waiariki Certificate in Creative Writing at the Waiariki Institute of Technology for one year.
Closing Date: 1 June 2010

Fulbright Creative New Zealand Pacific Writer's Residency Award 2010
The award enables a New Zealand writer of Pacific heritage to work for three months on a creative writing project exploring Pacific identity, culture or history at the Centre of Pacific Islands Studies at the University of Hawaii. Travel costs of NZ$3,000 for a return economy airfare to Hawaii, rental accommodation costs of NZ$3,000 per month, stipend of NZ$6,000 per month
Closing Date: 1 April 2010

The NZSA Pindar Publishing Prize 2010
A new award in 2010 to recognise creative writing excellence. The opportunity for a previously unpublished manuscript from a New Zealand writer to be published and marketed in New Zealand. Fiction, non-fiction, short story and poetry is accepted. Value $35,000.00
Closing Date: 30 March 2010

Related Links
Awards and Fellowships Administered by NZSA